Just Another Brick In The Wall

The Wall

You ever feel like sometimes when talking to someone you’re just yelling at a brick wall?  Like nothing you say is getting through or matters?  You feel like they hear you but in their head they are thinking “That may be true or was true when you were a kid but it’s different today or I don’t care I’m going to do it my way anyway despite you telling me it won’t work because I think I’m smarter than you and your 43 years experience?”

Well, how about the constant use of technology?  Let me say I think technology is great, I worked on computers for the majority of my AF career.  I have 2 more classes left and I will have my Bachelor’s in IT, Business Systems Analysis.  I use computers at work.  I’m all for it.  With that said, I’m not on the computer very much at home.  I do a lot of my stuff on my phone and I try not to have it glued to my face.  I watch TV a lot yes but I also take time to turn the TV OFF and put on music and just listen to it for several hours.  I can just lay on the couch and let the music play and be happy or do chores or play a game with the wife it doesn’t matter.

Meat Grinder Kids

It seems like our generation of children however are being hooked on technology and don’t understand life doesn’t revolve around social media, instagram, texting, X-Box, TV, or taking 500 selfies a day.  There is a whole other world out there.  We tell our kids all the time they have it a lot easier than we did.  When we were kids, we didn’t have computers and google to do research for papers.  We actually had to go to the library, use the Dewey Decimal System to find the books we need, then go find them on the shelves, then read the books to find the information we needed to use as references for our papers.  The information wasn’t just a click away.  We had to actually know how to spell words (surprise) we couldn’t afford to be lazy and say “Spell check will figure it out” which is a lame excuse for not knowing how to spell words like “exorbitant”, “School, “Pastry” or even “Plethora”.

We try to express to them that while technology is great and it’s fun to play on these new computers, and new x-box games, and talk with our friends through text or post pictures on instagram you have to step away from them from time to time.  You can’t spend all your time on them.  That’s no life, your letting your childhood slip away.  There are so many things your not experiencing because your focused on technology instead.  Unfortunately like most parents we get that vacant stare and they continue on like we never said a word.

Rise Of The Machines

In closing I fear technology has won the war and parents have become the civilian casualties.  There’s only so much you can say or do to effect change and if change refuses to come you just have to admit defeat, lick your wounds, and let them find out on their own when they are older and it’s too late to do anything about it, that you were right all along.

2 thoughts on “Just Another Brick In The Wall

Leave a Reply

