My Reading Inspirations

Books

I have been an avid reader most of my life.  At first I started with comics and read them up into my late 20s and would still continue to buy and read them today if I could afford it but alas I can’t, so that will have to go on the back burner for now because believe it or not keeping up with comics, as cheap as a new comic can be, is more expensive a hobby then reading books.

Later in my teens I got heavy into books.  I actually read another post from theinnerwildkat and that’s where I got the inspiration for this blog.  Along with comics I read books up until my 20s then got out of it for awhile.  I started back in my late 30s and haven’t stopped since.  I would go to the library during any free time I had in school and find a book and read it.  Two of those books were written by John Steinbeck.  They were The Grapes of Wrath and Of Mice and Men.  I can’t tell you just how amazing these books were to me.  Most kids today probably wouldn’t get a third of the way through them before they quit reading them because they aren’t of vampires, zombies, spies, horror stories, or sex.  All of which I read today but still.  My son who is a sophomore in college now, actually surprised me a couple years ago when we were talking about books and he named some he read.  Aside from the Hobbit and The Lord of The Rings which I had bought him when he was younger, he listed off some great books such as Julius Caesar, Macbeth, The Metamorphosis, The Illiad, and Animal Farm.  I was shocked because I just didn’t think kids today read those books anymore.

John Steinbeck The Grapes Of Wrath

John Steinbeck Of Mice And Men

Another book I read as a teenager that had a profound effect on me and so did the movie was written by Wilson Rawls, Where The Red Fern Grows.  This book held me in suspense, made me care, not only for the kid but for his dogs as well, made me laugh, and even made me cry.  I loved this book and own it still today.

Wilson Rawls Where The Red Fern Grows

Finally the main books I read from my teens up into my 20s were Luis L’Amour books.  I have read about 80% of all his books and probably own about 45% of them.  I loved his westerns and his Sackett series I thought was the best of them all.  One day I will finish reading all his books and own them all as well.

Luis L'Amour

Finally when I started reading again, I got more into the ghost stories and zombie books.  Mark Tufo is my all time favorite author that I currently read.  Every time he has a new book or series come out I make sure I buy it.  My favorite of them all is the Zombie Fallout series which is still going.  This guy is an amazing writer and has a way to pull you into the book and characters.

Mark Tufo Zombie Fallout

Next up on the list of current authors that I read is Jonathan Maberry.  His Rot & Ruin series is definitely a different take on the zombie Apocalypse than most others.  The series is written for older teens but it is still an amazing series even for adults as well.

Jonathan Maberry Rot & Ruin

Next up is Joe McKinney.  He has a whole outfit of different books out there that I haven’t even scratched the surface on but the ones I have read are the Dead World series, another zombie apocalypse series.  Are you starting to see a pattern to my reading now that I’m older?  I guess when you get my age you start thinking about death more, I don’t know.  Anyway these books go a step further and each book tells a story about different characters in each book, with just a couple tying one or two characters together.  But the great thing is they aren’t based in the same time.  One starts after the apocalypse, the next is based on several days before it happens and centering around a group of survivors when it does, another book 10 years later and another 20 years later, and so on.  A great concept.

Joe McKinney Appocolypse Of The Dead

Finally, if you know me at all then you know I am a fan of The Walking Dead TV series.  The show is just amazing and I have cheated and read the comics on line for free and do keep up with them.  However this is not about those comics.  It is however about the author Robert Kirkman and his novel series centered around a main character and city, The Governor and Woodberry, from The Walking Dead.  These books go more in detail than what the comics or TV show did and the books are simply amazing.

Robert Kirkman The Road To Woodbury

So to all you homo sapiens out there that like to read and are aren’t tied down to one type of book I humbly suggest these authors and books for you to read at your earliest opportunity.

Leave a Reply

