Mad Max Back On The Big Screan

Max Max  Fury Road

Yes it’s true, 30 years since the last Mad Max movie, Beyond Thunderdome, Mad Max is back with Fury Road in May 2015.  Only this time Tom Hardy will be playing Mad Max instead of Mel Gibson.  Now, there are times in reboots where they can get away with bringing in new actors to play iconic characters and it work and other times it doesn’t.  I always give them the benefit of the doubt until I see the movie and this is one I will do the same.  I am hesitent about though, I just have a hard time seeing anyone else but Mel Gibson in the role but saying that I do hope Tom Hardy can pull it off because I would love to see a new Mad Max movie.

Now, I am one who never listens to critics, I never listen to Joe Blow movie buff, or my friends and what they say about a movie.  I make my own decisions.  Too many times have I seen a movie that EVERYONE said was the greatest movie ever, won award after award after award and when I saw it I thought it was the worse thing I had ever seen.  Same goes for the reverse, there have been too many movies people and critics alike said a movie sucked, it didn’t do well in the box office, etc, and when i saw it, I thought the movie was great.  So I don’t go by other peoples opinion or the trends, I make my own decisions.  Just like the two Hulk movies, everyone hated them, I like them both but that’s just me.  So I will do the same for this one.

Now this movie has a challenge because it will be released in the middle of one of the most crowded movie years of all time.  You have The Avengers:  Age of Ultron, an untitled Man of Steel sequel, and a rebooted Terminator set for the summer and Star Wars:  Episode VII coming in December just for starters.  Plus you have the Mad Max game coming next year.

I do hope they do this franchise justice and Tom does a good job.  I like Mel and to me he is Mad Max, maybe Tom can change my mind, we will see.

Leave a Reply

