Best Singer Ever

So my wife did a blog about the Best Band Ever and it gave me the idea of doing one on who I felt was the Best Singer Ever.  Now I already know she is going to disagree with me and I’m sure many of my readers wil disagree with me as well.  Some will give the aristractical answers like Elvis, who was the King of Rock & Roll no doubt.  Or they may say singers like Michael Jackson, Otis Redding, Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, George Jones, or Hank Williams who in their own rights are all outstanding singers and paved new roads for their own styles of music.  But, like my wife said in her blog, it’s not because in 2011 he and his band were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, or because millions of fans love him and have for decades but because it is my own personal opinion, the best singer ever is the one and only Alice Cooper.

Alice Cooper

This is a guy who has been singing since the 60’s.  He was born Vincent Damon Furnier and the son of a minister.  He actually started out in a band of a different name until he changed the name of the band to Alice Cooper and then in the 1970’s adopted the same name as his own and went solo.  He also changed his stage act to pioneer a grandly theatrical and macabre brand of rock meant to shock the audience, thus becoming the creater of “Shock Rock”  He was the first to incorporate using “make up” as a standard look to which other bands such as Kiss and the like have since copied.

Alice Cooper is credited with helping shape the sound and look of heavy metal.  He is also regarded as the first artist who “First introduced horror imagery to rock & roll, and whose stagecraft and showmanship have permanently transformed the genre.”  He is also a film actor, golfing celebrity, and restauranteur, and since 2004 a popular radio DJ for classic rock with his show “Nights with Alice Cooper”.  Alice Cooper has been putting out albums every decade since the 60s and in 2011 released Welcome 2 My Nightmare his 19th album as a solo artist.

I personally came to listen to his music back in the 80’s.  My father had a 45 that had “Go To Hell” on Side A and “I Never Cry” on side B, to which he gave to me.  I listened to it and was instantly hooked.  From that point on I couldn’t get enough of his music and still can’t.  I’m on a personal mission to own every album ever released, which includes every greatest hits album, import album, and boxed sets.  The man is a rock & roll icon, he helped shape bands like Kiss, Metalica, Megadeth, and more.  Simply stated he is the best singer ever.

Alice Cooper 2

3 thoughts on “Best Singer Ever

    1. radaronelson Post author

      I knew you would say that. It’s not whether you like his songs, it what he has done for the music industry which I laid out in the blog. Alas you are entitled to your opinion as I am mine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

