Banned Book Week

Banned

 

I have never been in agreement with banning books.  With that said I think there are books that are not age appropriate for certain age groups.  No matter what, I do believe no book should be banned from a public library.  That is open to everyone and the public should have a right to read whatever book they want.  School libraries are different however.  It is Banned Books Week and teachers, librarians, bookstores, and schools are getting together to fight for books on the banned book list.  This actually started in 1982 and since then more than 11,300 books have been challenged.  Below is a list of a few of the challenged titles.

“Captain Underpants” (Series) by Day Pilkey.  This was banned due to offensive language and unsuited for age group.  Now my son used to read these books when he was 8 years old to 11 or 12 years old.  I can say without a shadow of a doubt there is absolutely nothing wrong with these books and there is absolutely no offensive language in them.  Where they come up with this crap is beyond me but these books should never have been banned in the first place.

“The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” by Sherman Aalexie.  The was banned due to Offensive Language, racism, sexually explicit, and unsuited for age group.  Now I have never read this book but as I said before I don’t believe any book should be banned from a public library. The library is open to the public and the public should have access to any book they want.  School libraries I can understand limiting certain books however.

“Fifty Shades of Grey” by E.L. James.  This was banned due to offensive language, and sexually explicit.  Again same as above.  Now I can understand banning it from school libraries, I would not want my 10 year old checking out this book from her shool library.

“The Kite Runner” by Khaled Hosseini.  This was banned for homosexuality, offensive language, religious viewpoint, and sexual explicit.  I’m sorry but homosexuality and religion should never be a reason to ban any book.  Now if they are describing sexual acts, again I could understand not letting it in schools but no book should be banned from a public library for any reason.

I honestly don’t know who elects the people who decide what people should or can read and what they shouldn’t or can’t read but it has gotten ridiculous.  They make stuff up and ban books from places where they shouldn’t be.  I am glad they have this banned book week.  More people should work to make books available for everyone to read.  Remember, reading is knowledge and knowledge is power.

I Read Banned Books

2 thoughts on “Banned Book Week

Leave a Reply

