Every Day Is A Reason To Drink

Lawn Party

Every day is a reason to drink.  Now some of you may be thinking “Oh yea, I have a few reasons myself like my bitch or dickhead of an ex for starters.  My asshole boss, or just the fact that I had a really bad day starting with I woke up by falling out of bed into a pile of dog piss on the carpet.  Then my foot got caught in the legs of my jeans and fell forward and hit my head on the wall as I hit the ground.  Next I had to get my car jumped because the battery was dead then I got a flat on the way to work and had to put the spare on in the middle of rush hour traffic.  I was 2 hours late.  My boss yelled at me because someone else didn’t show up and that made it my fault.  I ordered a cheeseburger with ketchup and pickle only and they gave me a cheeseburger with lettuce, tomato, onion, mayo, mustard, and ketchup, and no pickles.  Then on my way home my spare got a flat and when I tried calling a tow truck my cell died so I had to walk to store to call and while in the parking lot I was robbed.  So yea I need a drink” well sure that’s one reason to drink but that’s not exactly where I’m going with this.

I was thinking more along the lines of the fact that life should be a party, life should be celebrated, and what better way to celebrate being alive than with a drink.  Now I am probably going to get in trouble for saying this or at least start a mini argument because it normally does but I have my own view on what is and is not an alcoholic.  Personally just because a person drinks alcohol every day in my book does not constitute a person as an alcoholic.  I and my wife have argued this point many times.  I see no reason why a person can’t have 3, 4, 5, or 6 drinks a night.  It’s no different than having 6 glasses of tea or 10 glasses of water.  It’s just a drink.  To me what constitutes an alcoholic is when the alcohol interferes with the individuals family life AND work life.   Meaning, they are showing up late or drunk for work on a daily basis.  Their productivity at work is low.  Now interfering with family life does not mean, the spouse doesn’t like it so it’s interfering, no, it means the individual is hiding bottles everywhere, selling everything, kind of like someone hooked on crack would do, to get money to buy their alcohol.  They become physically, mentally, and emotionally abusive and detached, not interacting with the family at all.

If you can have a normal relationship (as normal as one can that is) with your family, be a productive member of society, excel at your job and still drink every day, then that does not make you an alcoholic and I see nothing wrong with it.

Passed Out

I like my alcohol, I like to party.  I, unfortunately live in an apartment.  I could still have parties but not the big outside parties like I want to have.  The other hindrance is friends.  To have these parties you have to have a large friend base that lives close by.  I don’t have that.  I only have a couple.  The vast majority of my friends all live in different states and countries.  I want to have that big party where you play the music blaring loud, there are 4 kegs on the patio, I’m serving liquor behind my bar, I have food on the grill, everyone is getting plastered, making out on the couch, floor, hoods of cars, wherever, women are drinking so much tequila their clothes are falling off and their dancing on the cars, and the next day you’re walking over drunken passed out bodies everywhere, kicking them saying it’s time to go home but not till after you grab a trash bag, fill it, and take it to the dumpster on your way out.  And no, this is not me wanting to live a bachelor life either.  Growing up my family threw these parties all the time, from my mom and dad to my aunt and uncles.  It was common practice and I was steeling sips of beer from opened cans that were left on tables while the adults were doing their thing.  Yes I was a naughty teenager but that was life and it was fun.  So maybe someday after I have my own home, I will have enough friends who actually live near me that I can throw those kinds of parties, but until then I drink alone at home or go to the bar and drink while I shoot pool.

6 thoughts on “Every Day Is A Reason To Drink

  1. sakuraandme

    Interesting thought pattern, Robert. 🙂

    I have a post in my drafts about Alcohol and Paula… haven’t posted it. Lol its a touchy subject especially on my site where you shouldn’t drink alcohol with depression. You see I’m like you, I love to party and have fun
    Definitely many times sorry the next day. Lol 🙂
    I suppose it comes with being a binge drinker. Over the years I’ve had plenty of those parties. I drink maybe 4 or 5 times a week, it depends what’s on. I see where Shanny’s coming from, but I think some personalities are hard to tame…if you get what I’m meaning. At times I’m hell responsible, but when I can let my hair down? I let my hair down and the world can go jump. Lol
    Living with someone like this isn’t always easy. But you and Shanny have a great understanding for each other. Hugs Paula xx

    Reply
    1. radaronelson Post author

      Thanks, it’s tough sometimes but we always come through. I too love to let my receding hairline down and party hard and I know I’m a hard one to tame. Me and her differ on opinions on this issue and at times it can cause arguments but it doesn’t mean I don’t respect her worries or opinions, it’s just not who I am and it’s hard to be that tamer person.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

