We All Interprete Things Differently

Interpretation

Oh Interpretation.  We all hear things and read things and interpret them differently from time to time.  It’s natural.  It’s human nature.  It can also get you in big trouble.  Some times interpretation is just plain ignorance and other times it’s intentionally interpreted differently than from the original meaning just to see how the other person will react.

So many things can be interpreted differently.  Yet there are just some things that can only be interpreted one way.  The bible is one of those things that can be interpreted differently by people.  No one can say one persons interpretation is right or wrong because it is just that, an interpretation.  When people are having just a casual conversation, someone can say something and depending on culture or how they were raised it can have an entirely different meaning to them so they interpret what they say as something different then what the person actually meant.

I believe when people read between the lines that is exactly what they are doing, they are interpreting what a person is saying.  I for one always say, If those words did not come out of my mouth then that’s not what I said, you interpreted it wrong.  I hate people taking what I say, and then say I said something else because they “assumed” I meant something different.  Did I say what you “assumed”?  No?  Then that’s not what I meant.  I meant exactly the words that I said.  Nothing more, nothing less.

So do you tend to interpret things differently then how people mean them or do you take what people actually say at face value?

17 thoughts on “We All Interprete Things Differently

  1. Kitt Crescendo

    I think it depends on the person. There are some people I know that lack the depth of thought, insight and/or character to be taken for anything but face value. There are other people with whom reading nuances becomes important as they have either turns of phrases or subtlety down to a science. 🙂

    Reply
  2. The Siren's Tale

    I misinterpret what people are saying often, but it is never on purpose. People communicate in so many different way and personally for me, I need lots of details. When the details are missing, I don’t understand. It definitely can create issues!

    Reply
    1. radaronelson Post author

      I am the same way. I’m always asking questions because I don’t want to assume one thing when they mean something different. When I am saying something I tend to tell a story as well just to ensure noone misinturpretes me too.

      Reply
    1. radaronelson Post author

      Well thank you so much. I’m glad you like what I write. I’m sorry your phone wouldn’t reblog it. Maybe when your on your computer it will work. Reblog away.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

