A Craptastic Holiday

Once again it is time for a new guest celebrity blogger.  This time I bring you a truly amazing writer, she has some outstanding poems.  If you haven’t seen Miriam’s sites I highly recommend you check them out at Another Wandering Soul also Life and other Tales and finally Words Unshackled you will not regret it.  Here is her post.

A Craptastic Holiday

A Craptastic Holiday

Once upon a time, there was a guy named Valentinus.
He lived in the days of the Roman Empire and was imprisoned for ministering to Christians (who were persecuted under the Romans) and performing weddings for soldiers who were forbidden to marry. Before his execution, he is said to have healed his jailer’s daughter and wrote “From your Valentine” as a farewell to her. Of course, they sent him to the afterlife.
What a happy little story.

Be honest – have you ever thought about the origins of Valentine’s Day? If you have, I suppose you’re one in a million.

8 Money Maker_Web
I know it’s still a little early, but Valentine’s Day has been on my mind lately… or rather the annoyance (brewing inside of me) that comes along with it. I never understood what this particular day has to do with love and affection – it is simply about money.
Every year on February 14th, to the sound of money rolling in, big company bosses all around the globe relax in their leather chairs with a victorious glass of Cognac, laugh heartily and slap their bellies because we buy all the specially manufactured stuff made to prove our love to each other. Why not put a price tag on love? It is a great idea, brilliant in its simplicity.

We all know the scenario. Desperate men running through the streets, hoping to buy anything, that might tame the ‘Valentine’s Day Monster’ they have at home – and God forbid they don’t find a suitable present or forget to bring one altogether! One minute you’ve got a supposedly loving girl by your side, the next you’re sitting out on the curb while your clothes rain down on you in a colorful shower to the soundtrack of her “hysterical symphony”.
What a great day.
Love is in the fucking air.

-holy-crap-talking-hearts--1We, as a race, are stupid.
I am convinced.
Money still rules our planet and we even let it interfere with our love life.
How sad is this?

What is it that makes us feel the need to prove our love to each other on this “special” day?
Are we so insecure that we have to experience love in a materialistic way?
Are we so insecure that we have to reduce our relationships to the experience of superficial perfection in a certain time frame?

If materialism is what love gets reduced to nowadays, I will call myself a rebel and gladly boycott the unspoken rules of today’s “loving” society.
Hopefully, I will not be alone.

I refuse to put a price tag on love.
I refuse to be told when and how I have to tell my loved ones that I do, indeed, love them.
On Valentine’s Day, I will not spend a single dime on anything supposedly ‘love-related’.
It’s fun and relaxing… come join me.

Side Note for the Girls:
If you still feel like celebrating your love on February 14th, at least get your man a six-pack of beer and some bedroom action – after all, he’s been sweating all day to please your loving needs.

That said:

everything

18 thoughts on “A Craptastic Holiday

  1. Shannygirl

    I hate this freaking Hallmark holiday. I’ve already told my husband (the blog hosts) that we are not celebrating it this year. He goes overboard trying to make up for all the crappy one’s I had before him… but it’s just such a horrible day! If your not “in love” and rich you don’t quite meet up to societies standards as successful in love… pisses me off.

    Reply
    1. Miriam E.

      oh; i hate it, too… from the bottom of my heart. that day definitely sorts out the ‘black sheep’ – kind of like pointing the finger at the unfortunate ones. what a great way to roll… *sigh*

      Reply
  2. sakuraandme

    Omg! The amount of money over the years my husband spent on me, on this day…. Is ridiculous!! It’s nearly 15 years now and the novelty has worn off!! Lol ……. Paula x

    Reply
    1. Miriam E.

      yes, it’s insane, isn’t it?
      lgo take that money and go buy something ‘useful’ you both can enjoy… i simply refuse to buy any more Valentine’s Crap.
      thanks for reading! 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: A Craptastic Holiday | Life and other Tales

  4. Miriam E.

    oooh looks really good, Rob! thank you so much for giving me the oportunity to bitch over at your place (sorry i couldn’t come up with anything nicer – that damn day just pisses me off! lol)…
    you rock!! i’m getting you a zombiemaster 3000 as a thank you (whatever the hell that is…) 😉

    Reply
        1. radaronelson Post author

          That is just too awesome. I WANT IT! Can I have it? Can I? Can I? Pleaseeeeeeeeee? Um normally people are in front of me when their moaning by the way. Hehehe

          Reply
          1. Miriam E.

            of course you can! 😀 customs might give me a hard time should i try to send it, but… fuck them! 😉
            … i figured, that’s why i made it clear. lol the ones i was pointing out will fly to bits shortly after starting to moan should you use that thing on them – i am certain your other ‘moaners’ don’t do that. 😉

            Reply

Leave a Reply

