Thanksgiving

English: Photo showing some of the aspects of ...

English: Photo showing some of the aspects of a traditional US Thanksgiving day dinner. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, Thanksgiving has come and gone.  I had a wonderful visit with my kids this past week.  I took them back to Florida this past Friday.  I miss them already.  I had every intention to post more blogs during my week off but every day was just so busy then when I wasn’t busy I was trying to spend as much time as I could with my kids so unfortunately I didn’t get as many blogs posted as I had liked.  So hopefully now that I’m back to work for the next 4 nights I’ll be able to make up for it.

Everyone to include my wife has been doing these daily “I am thankful for” posts on here and facebook.  I have not participated for several reasons.  One, I knew I wouldn’t be on here every day nor facebook everyday for Nov and two, I honestly didn’t feel I could come up with 30 days of things I was thankful for.  With how my life is going right now with 50 % of my paycheck going to my ex, a debter wanting another $400 a month from me, living in a roach infested ghetto apartment, bank account going in the negative, not enough to buy a lot of presents for everyone, being clinically depressed, still waiting on the VA to do something with my disability, now 20 months later, the fact that after 15 Jan I will be out of a job and I have been trying since Dec 2011 to find a new one and have been unsuccessful, and I could go on, I just haven’t seen a lot to be thankful for.

Before I get the comments, yes I have my kids, my wife, love, a place to live (but that may disappear after I’m out of a job), food (that will be difficult too after I’m out of a job), etc, none of that pays the bills, pays rent, buys food, gas, electric, etc.

Now with that said, I am going to make an attempt here to list a few things that I am thankful for despite everything I have just said.

I am thankful for my kids.  All three have given me every reason to be proud of them in more ways than one.  I love them very much and honestly can not see life without them.

I am thankful for my stepchildren.  Despite any disputes we have on what is best for them, they have accepted me as their father in place of their non-existant blood father who is no longer in their lives.  They call me dad and look at me as if I am their real father.

I am thankful for my wife.  She loves me even when I don’t love myself.  She tells me when she is worried about me even if I don’t think she needs too at times.  I am proud of her for it anyway.  She is number one in my life next to my kids even if I don’t always make her feel like it.  She has stayed with me even though she could leave at any time to look for a better life than what we currently have.

I am thankful I at least have a job through the holidays, so we can celebrate Christmas, even if it’s not as big a celebration as we would like.

I am thankful for my mother, even though every conversation we have is about the end of the world and the prophecies and signs all around us, she still loves me and makes a point to call (maybe a little too often for me but still).

I am thankful for my father, who has been my role model for so many things in my life.  He has not only been a father but a friend and someone who I could always talk to about anything.

I am thankful for my family who through all the years with my time in the military and now with DHS (even my mother) has always thought I was more important and knew more about what was going on then what I really did/do and thought I “just couldn’t tell them cause it’s top secret” hence my top secret clearance.  Sometimes I just have to laugh.

I am thankful I have friends for this world would truly be a lonely place without friends to talk to, laugh with, joke around with, and flirt with.

So, I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving and was able to spend it with someone you either love or enjoy being around as I did.

5 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

