I Let A Burgler In My House Then He Didn’t Want To Leave

Ein Waschbär am frühen Morgen auf dem Dach ein...

Ein Waschbär am frühen Morgen auf dem Dach eines Wohnhauses. (English: A raccoon in the early morning on the roof of an apartment house.) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One time around 12 yrs old or so, me and my neighbor friend had came home from school and there was a raccoon in my front yard.  Now where we lived there were woods behind our houses so this wasn’t really unusual.  Well being the intelligent young teenagers that we were we thought “Hey if we catch it, we can tame it.  If we tame it, we can play with it.”  I mean raccoons are cute and playful right?

Well we knew we couldn’t chase him around outside, he would just get away.  How can we limit his running area….hmmmmmm……I got it….”Get him in the house!”  Smart kids we were, limited running room, we could corner him and trap him.  Mission accomplished.  So I proceed to open the door and my friend starts shooing him towards the front door.  Eventually he decides it’s safe and comes in.  I immediately close the door so he can’t turn around and run back outside. 

I then proceeded to get 3 large black Hefty Leaf & Yard bags and triple bag them so he can’t claw his way out.  We inch closer and closer and closer and then the raccoon takes off running and we are chasing.  He runs in one bedroom then out when we came in.  Then into my parents bedroom then out again when we came in.  Meanwhile we are closing the doors so he can’t go back in them.  Then he runs into my bedroom then back out. 

The raccoon then proceeded to run into the kitchen then the family room then past us again back into the living room.  We chase that raccoon forever till we finally got the bag over it and tied off the top so he couldn’t get out.  Then all of a sudden, the raccoon starts making this yelling sound and starts clawing his way out of the bag, tearing it to shreds.  We opened the front door but he wouldn’t go out.  He took off running down the hallway again.  We gave chase and finally it ran out the front door and we closed it.  We laughed realizing that was one of the stupidest things we had ever tried .  It amazes me some of things I did as a kid not once thinking of the consequenses or if I could be hurt or not.   I thought I was invencible.

3 thoughts on “I Let A Burgler In My House Then He Didn’t Want To Leave

Leave a Reply

