Another Year Older

40th birthday cake

40th birthday cake (Photo credit: Ben Sutherland)

So yesterday, 12 October 2012, I turned 40.  Some people say I’m now officially over the hill but since I plan to live to be at a minimum of 134, well I’m not quite over the hill just yet.  40 years of my life has passed.  I have 3 beautiful children, one 20 in college, engaged to be married, another 18, senior in high school, applying for MIT and Yale, and another turning 15 next month still a lot ahead of her.  I have a gorgeous and sexy wife, a 15 yr old step son and a 9 yr old step daughter who is in the honors program.  I have served 20 years in the Air Force and been Active Duty for 3 wars and numerous military engagements in other countries.  I served 6 months in the war against terror after 9/11.  I have seen my share of death and life.  I have been to almost every state in the U.S.  I lived in Alaska for 9 years.  I have been to Canada, Germany, Italy, Paris France, Japan, Korea, Thailand, Iraq, Saudia Arabia, UAE, and Oman.

I have won more awards than I can count, more medals than I feel I deserve.  I have managed my own office the majority of my military career and now I am a civilian contractor for the Department of Homeland Security with only 3 months left on that contract and I’ll be out of a job.  I live in a roach infested ghetto.  It’s been 18 months and the VA has yet to do anything with my disability while other people I work with who got out after me got theirs in 8 months.  I was out of work for 6 months after retirement and because of the raping my ex did in those 6 short months they say I owe $23,000 in child support and alimony.  6 months!!!!  I am clinically depressed and despite the fact I have been applying for jobs since Dec I have yet to get anything.  Normal odds would say I would have had a different job by now.

So I ask, what is so great about being 40?  Well life may not be great right now but I know it will get greater.  Life may be bad but it could be worse.  I may not be where I want to be right now but I have faith that someday I will be.  Despite all the bad now, there have been a lot of good.  I was there for the birth of my 3 children and each one stole a piece of my heart when they were born.  I would die for them if I had too.  I divorced and met my soul mate.  Things may be tough and rough between us but she is my reason for getting up each day and moving forward, working for a better life.  I have seen more of this world than I could have ever imagined and there is so much more I still plan to see someday.

I want to say thank you to my family and friends for the Happy Birthday comments.  Especially my wife and kids.  This has been one of the best birthdays yet.

Thank you all

Rob

4 thoughts on “Another Year Older

Leave a Reply

