What Is Looking Back At You In The Mirror?

What Do You See In The Mirror?

When you look in the mirror what do you see?  Do you see a courageous lion or do you see a scared little child?  All too often with today’s stresses in life, society saying you have to be a certain way or look a certain way, it becomes very difficult to live up to those expectations.  It’s even worse if you have someone in your life who is constantly telling you how worthless, fat, or ugly you are.  Most times when we look in the mirror we don’t see the courageous lion, we see somthing worse.

As someone who deals with depression on a daily basis I can tell you too many times I have looked in the mirror and what I saw, I was not happy with.  I say I’m too fat, even when my wife says I’m not.  I look in the mirror and say you look like a worthless person that no one would want to be around.  I have to remind myself that these negative things I am telling myself are not true.  I have to step forward, closer to the mirror and look harder, past all the negative imagery, all the depressive thoughts, and say there you are.  There is that courageous lion.  There is the handsome, smooth talker that my wife loves.

The hardest thing anyone can do is see themselves positively in the mirror especially if people close to them are feeding them negative thoughts and are emotionally and verbally abusive.  I challange everyone who reads this to do one thing.  Everyday, either in the morning or at night before bed, look in the mirror and say one positive thing about yourself and mean it.  Do this everyday and when you become comfortable with it, increase it to two positive things until you get to a point to where you can look in the mirror and no longer see something bad but only something good and wonderful.

2 thoughts on “What Is Looking Back At You In The Mirror?

  1. Shannygirl

    It is extremely hard to say those positive things and mean them when you’ve heard the worst for so long… but you can start believing them.. it is possible.. and it helps when you have someone in your life that tells you all the time positive things about you.. Which is why you have me..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

