Sins Of My Youth

I remember when I was a kid, I spent a lot of time at my grandmother’s house.  Now my aunt, my cousin’s grandmother lived next door as well.  For some weird reason my family feels this need to live as close as humanly possible to each other, which I can’t for the life of me figure out why.  I have a very large family on my mother and my father’s side and they all live in different pockets around Florida, North Carolina, and Tennessee.  I broke that tradition when I went in the military and now that I’m retired I’m keeping with it.  It’s only by chance I have a cousin that lives within 30 mins from me.  Anyway I’m off topic.

Me and my cousin were at our grandparents every day and there was this boy that lived across the street that we never really liked much.  He was kind of a jerk and had no social skills at all but he always wanted to play with us even though we weren’t exactly nice to him or he to us.  One day me and my cousin decided we were going to play a joke on him.  there were a patch of woods by the houses and we had a trail we would play on, so we dug various holes along the trail, about 6 in total and filled them with poison ivy.  Then we covered them with tree limbs then covered those with fallen leaves so you couldn’t see the flimsy tree limbs covering the wholes.  Do  you see where I’m going with this?

Yep, we called him out to play and we took off running along the trail avoiding every hole because we knew where they were.  Wouldn’t you know he stepped in every single one of them holes and never thought twice about it.  He did twist his ankle on one but that was it.  So we waiting around to see if our plan worked and after a bit he starts scratching his ankles.  Now this kid always wore shorts and never wore socks with his shoes and sometimes no shoes at all.  So he starts scratching, and scratching, and scratching.  We realize it worked and start laughing our asses off, he not having a clue as to why asks us what was so funny.  So we told him what we did.  Of course he wasn’t happy and ran home.  We didn’t see him for over a week.  He did come back out eventually but I will say I feel bad about what we did despite the fact he was always a jerk to us.

For another story on practical jokes as a kid check out my wife’s blog below.

http://shanson3871.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/the-jokster-started-young/

5 thoughts on “Sins Of My Youth

  1. Kitt Crescendo

    The one my aunts pulled on my stepdad was meaner. They got a bunch of ants and dipped them in chocolate. He should have been suspicious when they came to find him to give him “candy”. Back then they were never nice to him. But…he never suspected. And he ate them. Then they laughed in his face and told him. He was quite upset to learn he’d been eating real bugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

