Social Media Shouldn’t = Being An Ass

Social media has pretty much taken over the internet and how we interact with family and friends.  Over all, as a whole it can be a great way to stay in contact with with people, chat, keep people up-to-date with what you are doing and share photos and other information with those same people.

Now, the bad side to social media is it tends to give people a little extra courage (kinda like alcohol) to say something they normally wouldn’t say in any other setting (especially face-to-face).  To add fuel to the fire our society has become so politically correct people can’t even be themselves in their own home without being chastised.  It’s really getting out of hand.

I think most people have those “friends” on their friends list on facebook or twitter that seem to have something to say about anything you post, whether its a status update or a picture or a joke.  Now when I say they have something to say, I don’t mean something good but a negative comment such as “I don’t like that picture of that half naked slut” or “you shouldn’t post half naked men on your page, kids can see it”.  Well, if you don’t like what I post on MY facebook/twitter page then why in the hell did YOU add me in the first place?  On top of that if you don’t like it, either block the statuses, don’t go to my page, or better yet, send me a message politely saying there are things that I post you don’t like so therefore you are deleting me.  Now if your an ass about it you better believe I’ll be an ass back.  But there is no reason for you to stay my friend and continue to state why you don’t like something I posted or how it offends you or just be an ass all together.

This is an open forum but it is not a place to berate people and constantly tell people that everything they say and do and their page that you don’t own or control offends you.  It’s not your place.  We have this wonderful thing in our country called freedom of speech and freedom of expression and yes you have a right to you opinion and to not like what is said and posted but with that said that does not mean you have to be a jerk about it either.  Just click un-friend or not look.  It is a very simple fix and a much better alternative to causing strife and constant arguments.

2 thoughts on “Social Media Shouldn’t = Being An Ass

  1. Karen

    I play games (occasionally) on my FB page. It’s all I really use it for and to keep up with those family and friends I never get to see. I have one friend who constantly puts things on her page that are like little digs at me for playing the games. She doesn’t put it on my comments or my page but I know its aimed at me. I have blocked her from seeing my games statuses and posts so I can only guess she goes onto my page to look at my stuff before making her comments on her page. I also have to wonder why it is that she remains on my friends list then 🙂 You’d think a friend would accept you for who you are!

    Reply
    1. radaronelson Post author

      Yea she’s definitely trolling your page. It’s kinda sad when someone feels they have to do shit like that. You are right though I wonder the same things, if you don’t like anything posted why stay on the friends list? It makes no sense unless they enjoy talking bad about people and staying gives them a source to talk their smack.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

