What Is Love

Just like Haddaway’s song, I ask you What is Love?  I can guarantee everyone has their own version of what love is.  Now before I get into what I think love is, let’s talk about love and what or who we tend to associate love with.

We can love many different things and many different people but that love is not the same kind of love.  There are different kinds of love and different levels of love.  You can love your spouse, you can love your children.  You can love your parents, you can love other relatives.  You can love your friends and even a culture or group of people.  Some will even argue that, even though you may love your spouse, you can love another man or woman at the same time (I’ll give my view on this a little later).  You can love your country, you can love animals.  You can love a certain type of food or foods, you can love a sport or hobby.  You can love nature and if you are religious you can even love a God that you have never seen.

I list these things to give some perspective.  There are many things you can love but as  you can see they are different types of things and I guarantee your love for your spouse is different than your love for a sport.  I said I would come back to that and I am, since we are talking about love for a spouse, some say you can love a spouse but meet another person, have an affair or multiple affairs and fall in love with them too but still love your spouse at the same time.  I disagree with this thought process and here is why.  Your love for your spouse is a special kind of love.  They are your spouse because you made a commitment to each other.  You told each other that they and only they held your heart and soul and would forever.  If you are now saying you love your lover then your spouse no longer has your heart and soul forever, you no longer have that special love.  You have….fallen out of love with your spouse and in love with your new lover.  Now you did once love your spouse with all your heart so that is not to say you can’t call it off with your lover and you and your spouse can’t work on falling back in love with each other again because you can.  It just takes time and a lot of work.

So now that you know what you can love and that there are different kinds of love can we truly ask the question what is love?  Because really, I believe, love is many things to many people based on many aspects of their lives.

For me the love for my wife is a deep love, she is my soul mate, we are two halves that make a whole.  The love for my children is indescribable.  I would die for my children, I take pride in my children, and I will always be their confidant as well.

I love oriental and seafood but if I don’t have it, it doesn’t kill me.  I love my Pittsburgh Steelers and I support my football team even when we lose a game but if I miss a game it’s not the end of the world to me.

Hopefully you can see what I mean.  Love is many different things.  Everyone has their own version of what love is depending on what or who you are talking about.  So I ask, what is love to you?

2 thoughts on “What Is Love

  1. Shannygirl

    Yes there is many different loves. You know my stance on the loving more then one person at a time so I won’t go into that here. I will say I do love you more then I’ve ever loved anyone in my life and you and you alone hold the key to my heart. You always have, even way back in school when you didn’t talk to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

