One-Hit Wonders Of The 80s

Who remembers the 80’s?  Oh I do and I love them.  Some our best music came out of the 80’s.  But with some of those lasting bands like Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, Guns N Roses, and Metallica, there were also a lot of One-Hit Wonders.  VH1 has done a ton of One-Hit Wonder shows to include the 100 Top One-Hit Wonders of the 80’s.  Well, among them there have been many others who have put out their own list of One-Hit Wonders.  Well, I’m not going to go through all of them but I thought I would post the top 50.

50.  Neneh Cherry “Buffalo Stance”

49.   Philip Bailey (w/ Phil Collins) “Easy Lover”

48.  Yello “Oh Yeah”

47.  Pretty Poison “Catch Me I’m Falling”

46.  Georgia Satellites “Keep Your Hands To Yourself”

45.  Robbie Nevil “C’est La Vie”

44.  Wall of Voodoo “Mexican Radio”

43.  Shannon “Let the Music Play”

42.  Timbuk 3 “The Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades”

41.  Billy Vera “At This Moment”

40.  The Buggles “Video Killed the Radio Star”; their video also happened to be the first video played on MTV when the went on the air, this was back when they played music videos and not all this reality T.V. crap.

39.   Matthew Wilder “Break My Stride”

38.  Bruce Willis “Respect Yourself”; yes you read right, Bruce Willis

37.  Lipps, Inc. “Funkytown”

36.  Weather Girls “It’s Raining Men”

35.  Tom Tom Club “Genius of Love”

34.   The Waitresses “I Know What Boys Like”

33.  John Waite “Missing You”

32.  Quarterflash “Harden My Heart”

31.  Bobby McFerrin “Don’t Worry Be Happy”; remember Robin Williams was in the video with him.

30.  The Vapors “Turning Japanese”, a song all about masturbation

29.  Madness “Our House”

28.  John Parr “St. Elmos Fire (Man In Motion)”

27.  Stacey Q “Two of Hearts”

26.  Cutting Crew “I Just Died In Your Arms”

25.  Musical Youth “Pass the Dutchie”

24.  Edie Brickell & New Bohemians “What I Am”

23.  Eddy Grant “Electric Avenue”

22.  Michael Sembello “Maniac”

21.  The Divinyls – I Touch Myself; just seeing her in that video made me touch myself

20.  Rockwell “Somebody’s Watching Me; the most paranoid singer of the time

The Divinyls

19.  Dead or Alive “You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)”

18.  Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock “It Takes Two”

17.  Men Without Hats “The Safety Dance”

16.  Nena “99 Luft Balloons”; why this song was ever a hit I will never know.

15.  Devo “Whip It”; whip it good

14.  Big Country “In A Big Country”

13.  Thomas Dolby “She Blinded Me With Science”; every tech geeks wet dream

12.   Animotion “Obsesssion”

11.  Gary Numan “Cars”

10.   Frankie Goes to Hollywood “Relax”

9.  Kajagoogoo “Too Shy”

8.  Bow Wow Wow “I Want Candy”

7.   Modern English “I Melt With You”

6.  Toni Basil “Mickey”

5.  Soft Cell “Tainted Love”; great song and great remake by Marilyn Manson

4.  Tommy Tutone “867-5309 / Jenny”

3.  A-Ha “Take On Me”; for the 80’s and even now this video was just plain cool

2.  Flock of Seagulls “I Ran (So Far Away)”

1.  Dexys Midnight Runners “Come on Eileen”

A-Ha

3 thoughts on “One-Hit Wonders Of The 80s

Leave a Reply

