Midnight In Paris

In 2005, while I was still in the Air Force, I worked for International Affairs.  We basically were the guys who would shake hands with the other countries, say hey, we are your friends, if you agree to be our allie we will sell you a plane.  Of course there is a lot more to it than that, that was just the really quick version.  Anyway, in 2005, we had an air show in Paris.  Another one of those opportunities to show off our airpower and shake hands with the government.  Let me say, for the two weeks there I did enjoy myself.  I am glad that I went.  But it was not what everyone makes it out to be.  It’s not ALL that.  After 2 weeks I was ready to leave.  Now I have been to other locations around the world where I never wanted to leave but though I enjoyed Paris it was not a place I would want to stay for any extended length of time.

What got me first was how late they ate supper.  A lot of places didn’t even open till 7pm to serve food and by then my stomach was eating its self.  Now I did get to see the Arch, the Notre Dame, the Mona Lisa, and even was envited to a party on the second floor of the Eiffel Tower.

I always enjoy seeing monuments and historic items and Paris has them to be sure.  When I was in the Notra Dame, it is set up so that you can walk around the outside and look at everything while in the middle services are held.  It was very interesting to say the least.  The museum was interesting as well.  There was a lot to see and I took quite a few pictures.  The Mona Lisa was very well protected but at the same time you are able to get surprisingly close so you can get pictures like the one below.

As I stated earlier, myself and several others who were there to meet with the government leaders were invited to a party in the Eiffel Tower.  This was pretty cool to say the least.  Not a lot of people can say they partied there.  The plan was me and a buddy would go, show our faces, eat a little, drink a little, then leave and hit the bars.  What happened was something different.  A captain we were with was at the party and was getting really wasted, really early.  Before we could even leave the party, she was extremely toasted.

Now for a brief second we thought about letting her get herself back to the hotel but we quickly realized she wasn’t going to be able to, so we decided to ensure she got there instead.  By the time we got her back to the hotel unfortunately it was too late to get back on the metro, back into town to hit the bars.  So we ended up staying at the hotel.  Needless to say our plans were ruined but despite that we can still say we partied in the Eiffel Tower.

 

3 thoughts on “Midnight In Paris

  1. DaPoet

    Unfortunately it only takes one dumb chick with an entitlement chip on her shoulder to ruin the best laid plans…But hey at least ya got to see Paris. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Shannygirl

    Well I’ve never been to Paris, (or anywhere else really for that matter) so I can’t say if it’s all that or not. I know I’ve wanted to go all my life and regret not going when I had the chance. Hopefully one day I will get there (and be able to stay 2 weeks myself to see it all) but I’m not holding out hope for it. Of course that would be after my Tuscany/Italy visit.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

