From Birthday To Graduation Day: A Salute To My Oldest Daughter

So come August it will be 20 years my oldest daughter has graced my life with her presence.  From the moment I laid eyes on her in the delivery room I knew she would hold my heart forever and I would always love her like no father ever could.  She is my pride and joy, my first born and she has made me proud more times than I can count over the years.

I remember watching her grow over the years, moving when she was 2 years old from Clovis, New Mexico to Fairbanks, Alaska and how good she was that long weeks drive.  Living 9 years in Alaska, watching her grow, make friends, teaching her to backpack; we did a lot of backpacking, then seeing her face when I returned from war was everything I could ever want.  Then the 2 years in Virginia before her and her sister and brother moved to Florida, back to my hometown, after the divorce.  The hurt in her eyes breaks my heart to this day.  But she continued to grow as all children do, she graduated high school, fell in love during that time to a great guy, and has now graduated with her Associates Degree as of 4 May 2012 and will be moving on to the University of Florida to continue with her bachelors degree.

My little baby girl has now grown up into a responsible, beautiful, young woman and as I said before I couldn’t be more proud of her.  I look forward to her graduating with her bachelors, marriage, saying I’m a grandfather, though I’d be a very young one of course, and pursuing her goals and dreams in life.  I know she will get everything she ever hoped for and more.  I love her and just wanted to say congratulations on another stepping stone in life complete.  Good luck to your future and all you ever do.

Love Dad

3 thoughts on “From Birthday To Graduation Day: A Salute To My Oldest Daughter

  1. Shannygirl

    She is a very beautiful young woman, and you should be proud of her. I know how much you miss her everyday and I hope that one day your relationship with her will be all you want it to be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

